Crispy Red Mullet with Herbs

Cooking in Sens

IMG_3853b

While cruising by the fish market I heard tiny little fish voices calling out to me; β€œHello, hey you American, look at us”, but it was in French. Β So I did. Β I saw the prettiest little red mullets, so fresh that they were still gasping for air and able to talk. Β What could I do? Β I took them home for closer scrutiny. Β And cooking.

IMG_3820b

The recipe is one I’ve used for freshΒ sardines. Β Make sure the fish monger or somebody scales and guts the fish correctly, then look here. Β Before that, make my homemade tartar sauce.

IMG_3899b

Tartar Sauce

1/2 cup cornichons, finely chopped

2 spring onions, finely chopped

5 drops Sriracha sauce

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tbsp Dijon mustard

1 cup mayonnaise

Salt and pepper to taste

To make the tartar sauce, mix together the cornichons, onions, Sriracha, lemon juice, mustard, mayonnaise, salt and pepper, then refrigerate.

View original post

Leave a Reply

